Skip to main content

Barbara and Mike Bass Library

Library Home

My Library Account

Hours

Ask a Librarian

Chicago Style (Notes/Bibliography)

Provides basic information and instructions for preparing a paper using Chicago Manual of Style Notes and Bibliography system.

Book

Full Note Format

#. Author(s), Book Title (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), page number or page range.

Full Note Example

1. Terence R. Mitchell, People in Organizations: An Introduction to Organizational Behavior (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987), 55-57.


Short Note Format

#. Author(s) last name (s), Shortened Book Title, page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Mitchell, People in Organizations, 56.


Bibliography Format

Author(s) Name Inverted. Book Title. Publisher Location: Publisher Name, Year.

Bibliography Example

Mitchell, Terence R. People in Organizations: An Introduction to Organizational Behavior. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987.

Book with Author and Editor/Translator

Full Note Format

#. Author(s), Book Title, trans./ed. Translator or Editor Name (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), page number or page range.

Full Note Example

1. Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Double: A Poem of St. Petersburg, trans. George Bird (Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 1958), 199.


Short Note Format

#. Author last name, Shortened Book Title, page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Dostoevsky, The Double, 199.


Bibliography Format

Author Name Inverted. Book Title. Translated/Edited by Translator/Editor Name. Publisher Location: Publisher Name, Year.

Biblography Format Example

Dostoyevsky, Fyodor. The Double: A Poem of St. Petersburg. Translated by George Bird. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1958.

Chapter in an Edited Book

Full Note Format

#. Chapter author, "Chapter Title," in Book Title, ed. Editor Name (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), page number or page range.

Full Note Example

1. Dorothy Kelly, "Writing Difference Itself," in Literature as Philosophy/Philosophy as Literature, ed. Donald G. Marshall (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1987), 240.


Short Note Format

#. Chapter author last name, "Chapter Title," page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Kelly, "Writing Difference Itself," 240.


Bibliography Format

Chapter Author Name Inverted. "Chapter Title." In Book Title, edited by Editor Name, page number or page range. Publication City: Publisher, Year.

Bibliography Example

Kelly, Dorothy. "Writing Difference Itself." In Literature as Philosophy/Philosophy as Literature, edited by Donald G. Marshall, 240. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1987.

Electronic Books

Electronic books are cited similar to their print counterparts, adding a media marker at the end of the citation, such as: Kindle edition, PDF e-book, CD-ROM, etc. Books consulted online are cited as their print counterparts with the addition of a DOI or URL at the end of the citation.

Stable page numbers are not always available in electronic formats, instead include chapter number, section or other easily recognizable locator.

Full Note Format

#. Author(s), Book Title (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), format information, location information.

Full Note Example

1. Henry James, Washington Square (New York: Sugnet Classic, 2004), Fictionwise e-book, chapter 10.


Short Note Format

#. Author(s) last name (s), Shortened Book Title, location information.

Short Note Example

1. James, Washington Square, chapter 10.


Bibliography Format

Author Name Inverted. Book Title. Publisher Location: Publisher, Year. Format information.

Bibliography Example

James, Henry. Washington Square. New York: Signet, 2004. Fictionwise e-book.

Lorain County Community College | 1005 N Abbe Rd - Elyria, OH 44035 | 1-800-995-LCCC