Skip to main content

Barbara and Mike Bass Library

Library Home

My Library Account

Hours

Ask a Librarian

Chicago Style (Notes/Bibliography)

Provides basic information and instructions for preparing a paper using Chicago Manual of Style Notes and Bibliography system.

Journal Article, Single Author

Full Note Format

#. Author, "Article Title," Journal Title volume, issue (Date): page number or page range.

Full Note Example

1. Sheila Stoeckel, "Translating Evidence Based Practice to Information Literacy Instruction," College & Research Library News 71, no 8 (2010): 410-411.


Short Note Format

#. Author last name, "Shortened Article Title," page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Stoeckel, "Translating Practice," 410-411.


Bibliography Format

Author Name Inverted. "Article Title." Journal Title volume, issue (Date): page number or page range.

Bibliography Example

Stoeckel, Sheila. "Translating Evidence Based Practice to Information Literacy Instruction." College & Research Library News 71, no. 8 (2010): 410-411.

Magazine Article

Full Note Format

#. Author, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Date, page number or page range.

Full Note Example

1. Michael D. Lemonick, "Is Anybody Out There," Time, November 8, 2010, 58.


Short Note Format

#. Author last name, "Shortened Article Title," page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Lemonick, "Is Anybody Out There" 58.


Bibliography Format

Author Name Inverted. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Date.

Bibliography Example

Lemonick, Michael D. "Is Anybody Out There?" Time, November 8, 2010.

Print Newspaper Article

Full Note Format

#. Author, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Date.

Full Note Example

1. Steven Litt, "Cleveland Museum of Art's Atrium Skylight Rises at Last," The Plain Dealer, October 31, 2010.


Short Note Format

#. Author last name, "Shortened Article Title."

Short Note Example

1. Litt, "Cleveland Museum."


Bibliography Format

Author Name Inverted. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, (Date).

Bibliography Example

Litt, Steven. "Cleveland Museum of Art's Atrium Skylight Rises at Last," The Plain Dealer, October 31, 2010.

Electronic Journal Article

Citing articles from electronic periodicals follows the same format for printed versions described above. Additionally, entries include the DOI or URL and the access date (if required by your instructor).

Full Note Format

#. Author(s), "Article Title," Journal Title volume, issue (Date): page number or page range, access date if required by instructor, DOI (preferred) or URL.

Full Note Example

1. Sheryl Bobroff and Caren L. Sax, "The Effects of Peer Tutoring Interview Skills Training with Transition-Age Youth with Disabilities," Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation 33, no. 3 (2010): 143-157, accessed August 1, 2010, doi: 10.3233/JVR-2010-0523.


Short Note Format

#. Author(s) last name(s), "Shortened Article Ttitle," page number or page range.

Short Note Example

1. Bobroff and Sax, "Effects of Peer Tutoring," 143-157.


Bibliography Format

Author(s) name inverted. "Article Title." Journal Title volume, issue (Date): page number or page range. (Access date if required by instructor) DOI or URL.

Bibliography Example

Bobroff, Sheryl, and Caren L. Sax. "The Effects of Peer Tutoring Interview Skills Training with Transition-Age Youth with Disabilities," Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation 33, no. 3 (2010): 143-157 (Accessed August 1, 2010) doi: 10.3233/JVR-2010-0523.

NOTE: only first author's name is inverted

Lorain County Community College | 1005 N Abbe Rd - Elyria, OH 44035 | 1-800-995-LCCC