Skip to main content

Barbara and Mike Bass Library

Library Home

My Library Account

Hours

Ask a Librarian

RELG 261: Religion in America (Ko)

Overview of LCCC library resources in the subject area of religion. It will be especially useful to Religion 261 students.

Topics for Research Paper/Annotated Bibliography

You will select a topic from those listed in Canvas. Here is the link to the Canvas page with possible topics.

The Annotated Bibliography: Assignment Details

Please deposit the annotated bibliography assignment in the corresponding Canvas drop box by 10 pm Saturday, 29 February 2020.

Please use this template for the annotated bibliography assignment.

In the annotated bibliography assignment you will list a MINIMUM OF 5 (FIVE) SOURCES.  The sources can include books, eBooks, magazines,  journals, databases, websites, etc.  One source should be an overview of the topic. You should list NO MORE THAN 2 WEBSITES.

Additional details of the assignment (content of each entry, number of sources, etc.) are found in your Canvas Account under Annotated Bibliography.

BEFORE due date please use Canvas course email to discuss questions/needs/issues and in library appointments with me for this assignment. You can also use my college email rblanfor@lorainccc.edu before the due date for the same needs. 

If my availability does not match yours, other Bass librarians can help via phone (440 366 4106) and with  in-library assistance and appointments. Make an appointment with them and me here.

 

The Annotated Bibliography: Explanatory Videos

The VIDEOS at the following links explain what an annotated bibliography is and offer good tools to help create one. Each video is nicely paced and provides step-by-step help.

CiteFast

Evaluating Sources

When you search for information, you're going to find lots of it ... but is it accurate and reliable? The CRAAP Test lists questions you can ask to determine if the information you have is credible and useful, or is it a bunch of ...?! Learn More

Currency: When was the information published or posted?
Relevance: Does the source relate to your topic? Is the writing level appropriate?
Authority: What can you learn about the author/sponsor of the information and his/her credentials?
Accuracy: Can you verify the information found in the source?  Does the author cite sources?
Purpose: Is the information objective and impartial? Is the information someone's opinion? Are the author's facts backed up by evidence?

Lorain County Community College | 1005 N Abbe Rd - Elyria, OH 44035 | 1-800-995-LCCC