LibGuides: Richard III: Find Sources

Read "Richard III"

Richard III by William Shakespeare
ISBN: 9781785435836
Publication Date: 2016
The Tragedy Of King Richard The Third by William Shakespeare
Publication Date: 1995

Copies of the play, Richard III, are available from online sources including:

You can also check out an electronic version of the book through Overdrive with your Public Library card. Search by zip code for the public library nearest you or look below the zip code box to see if your library appears.

Recommended Sources about "Richard III"

Literature and Its Times: Richard III by Joyce Moss; George Wilson
Call Number: Gale eBook
ISBN: 9780787606060
Publication Date: 1997
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
Shakespeare for Students: Richard III by Anne Marie Hacht
Call Number: Gale eBook
ISBN: 9781414412559
Publication Date: 2007
Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.
Richard III by Harold Bloom; Janyce Marson
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438133447
Publication Date: 2010
Equal parts tragedy and history play, Richard III chronicles the rise and short reign of its diabolical title character. Portrayed as England's curse and as his own worst enemy, the jealous and ambitious Richard would find little glory or peace awaiting him upon his ascension to England's throne. This collection of critical essays about the Bard's Richard III includes classic criticism from a number of notable critics throughout the centuries.
Richard III - William Shakespeare, Original Edition by Harold Bloom, Editor
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438186696
Publication Date: 2018
This book brings together a representative selection of the best modern critical interpretations of Shakespeare's history play Richard III.
Bloom's How to Write about Shakespeare's Histories by Neil Heims
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438175959
Publication Date: 2017
Shakespeare's vibrant history plays, including Richard III, Henry V, and the two parts of Henry IV, spring to life with all the drama of the feuds, rivalries, and epic battles on which they were based. While Shakespeare was aware of the historical past and a keen observer of his own times, his true genius lies in the timeless universality he lends to the lives of these legendary royals and the schemers and dreamers who made up their worlds. Bloom's How to Write about Shakespeare's Histories gives students a hand with composing an effective essay, suggesting sample paper topics and providing an overview of each work covered.
William Shakespeare by Harold Bloom
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438129419
Publication Date: 2009
Shakespeare's vibrant history plays spring to life with all the drama of the feuds, rivalries, and epic battles on which they were based. This title covers the Bard's history plays and also includes a chronology, bibliography, index and introductory essay by renowned Shakespearean scholar Harold Bloom.
Shakespeare's Histories by Harold Bloom, Editor
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781646930470
Publication Date: 2020
It is said that Shakespeare captured what is permanent and universal to all human beings at all times. Examine his histories, including Richard III; Henry IV, Part I; Henry IV, Part II; and Henry V.
Shakespeare -- The Histories by Graham Holderness
ISBN: 0312227132
Publication Date: 2000
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's History Plays by Michael Hattaway (Editor)
ISBN: 0521775396
Publication Date: 2002
Shakespeare and the Remains of Richard III by Philip Schwyzer
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook
ISBN: 9780199676101
Publication Date: 2013
This book explores how recollections and traces of the reign of Richard III survived a century and more to influence the world and work of William Shakespeare. Shakespeare and the Remains of Richard III charts the often complex careers of these traces of the past over the course of a century framed on one side by the historical reign of Richard III (1483-85) and on the other by Shakespeare's play. Drawing on recent work in fields including archaeology, memory studies, and material biography, this book offers a fresh approach to the cultural history of the Tudor era, as well as a fundamentally new interpretation of the wellsprings and preoccupations of Richard III.

SEARCH HINT: Do a Subject search on Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation.

Recommended Sources about William Shakespeare

Author information is very important when doing a critical analysis of a work, especially when you are asked to provide a brief biography of the author or a bibliography. The resources listed here will help you to find information about William Shakespeare.

The Truth about William Shakespeare by David Ellis
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
ISBN: 9780748646685
Publication Date: 2012
Soul of the Age by Jonathan Bate
ISBN: 1400062063
Publication Date: 2009
William Shakespeare by Garry O'Connor
ISBN: 1557834016
Publication Date: 2000
William Shakespeare by Anthony Holden
ISBN: 0316518492
Publication Date: 2000
William Shakespeare by Harold Bloom, Editor
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438115511
Publication Date: 2009
William Shakespeare is possibly the most revered writer of the English language. This volume offers critical essays examining the human drama in Shakespeare's work, studying his plays, and more. Also included is an informative biography of the Bard, a com
William Shakespeare by Harold Bloom
Call Number: Bloom's eBook
ISBN: 9781438134253
Publication Date: 2010
Shakespeare imbued A Midsummer Night's Dream with extraordinary complexity. This ethereal fantasy involves four different levels of representation, which intermingle but never wholly fuse. The enchanted forest in which most of the action takes place proves to be the ideal setting for a comedy exploring the intersection of reality and illusion, love and desire. This invaluable new literary reference presents a selection of the best contemporary criticism of one of Shakespeare's greatest plays, introduced by an essay from esteemed scholar Harold Bloom and featuring a bibliography, index, and chronology of the Bard's life.
The Private Life of William Shakespeare by Lena Cowen Orlin
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook
ISBN: 9780192846303
Publication Date: 2021
A new biography of William Shakespeare that explores his private life in Stratford-upon-Avon, his personal aspirations, his self-determination, and his relations with the members of his family and his neighbours. The Private Life of William Shakespeare tells the story of Shakespeare in Stratford as a family man.

SEARCH HINT: Do a Subject search on Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616.

Search for Sources about "Richard III"

SEARCH HINT: Search "Richard III" AND Shakespeare to limit results to relevant studies and essays.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
LCCC Library provides access to JSTOR Language & Literature Collection and the JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection.

Richard III

Bethany Miller

Read "Richard III"

Recommended Sources about "Richard III"

Recommended Sources about William Shakespeare

Search for Sources about "Richard III"

OneSearch

OneSearch