LibGuides: Research Project: Find Articles

OneSearch

Other Frequently Used Databases

For NEWSPAPER articles try ...

America's News This link opens in a new window
Reliable and credible information from various local, regional, and national news sources. This database includes the Cleveland Plain Dealer and the Lorain Morning Journal.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text current news and archive (into the 1980s). Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today.
US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Newspaper Source provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 392 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Plain Dealer Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cleveland Plain Dealer from 1989-present via America's News database.
Morning Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Lorain history through local news, events and people with the Morning Journal Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

For a GENERAL PURPOSE database which searches a less deep pool than OneSearch try...

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

For various VIEWPOINTS on topics try...

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is the premier database covering social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

For articles focusing on LITERARY CRITICISM try...

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.

Choosing a Database

Article databases provide you with 24-7 electronic access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

consult the descriptions on the Library's Research Databases (A-Z Databases)
check to see if there is a LibGuide that covers your subject area or topic.

Google Scholar

Get LCCC's full text in Google Scholar: In order to access LCCC's full text when using Google Scholar, you MUST set your Scholar Settings following the steps below:

1. Select the Google Scholar menu on the upper left.

2. Select the Settings Gear from the Google Scholar menu.

3. Select Library links, under Scholar Settings

4. Enter Lorain in the search box. Select "Lorain County Community College Library - Full Text Finder" Save you selection.

5. From Google Scholar Results, select Full Text Finder for full text.

6. If you see the login notice at the top of your screen, you will need to click there, then add your LorainCCC email and password to get to full text.