LCCC & Collegian Library Archives

Frequently Asked Questions about the LCCC Library Archives

What is an Archive?

• An Archive is a department that maintains the historical collections of an institution/organization.
• The historical documents themselves.
• The room(s) or building in which the historical materials are actually retained.

Where is the LCCC Library Archives?

The Library Archives is located in Room 210 (second floor) of the Barbara and Mike Bass Library/Community Resource Center.

Who may use the LCCC Library Archives?

LCCC students, staff, faculty, administrators, University Partnership students, and community users may use the LCCC Library Archives.

What materials are located in the LCCC Library Archives?

Lorain County Community College historical materials are retained in the Library Archives.  The Library Archives Finding Guide provides specifics. 

Can materials located in the LCCC Library Archives be checked out?

Typically, the materials located in the Library Archives are not available for check out.  However, exceptions are provided for LCCC faculty, staff, and administrators.

What can the information in the LCCC Library Archives be used for?

Historical information located in the Library Archives can be used for personal and research use.

Do I have to make an appointment to use the LCCC Library Archives?

Yes.  Fill out the Archives Request Form to make an appointment. 

Is there someone who can help me find what I need?

Yes, staff is available to assist with your information needs.  Fill out the Archives Request Form.  

May I make copies of the information I locate in the LCCC Library Archives?

Yes, you may make copies of the archival materials.  The LCCC Library has copiers; the charge per copy is five cents.

What are the LCCC Library Archives hours?

Fill out the Archives Request Form to arrange a time to use the Archives. 

Do I need to complete any forms before using the materials in the Library Archives?

Yes, fill out the Archives Request Form. 

How do I cite references to materials in the LCCC Library Archives that I have used?

Citing primary sources properly is important, because archival materials are often unique and so cannot be referred to elsewhere.  Persons trying to retrieve your sources at a later date will need to know exactly where and how to retrieve them.  The specific form of your citation will depend upon the citation style you adhere to (e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago). 

Generally, citations progress from the broadest to the narrowest of information.  The basic elements that should appear in your citation are:  Repository, Collection or Record Group, Series and/or Subseries, Box and Folder Number, and the Document itself. 

Remember to note down information from the Finding Aid and from the labels on the folder and box.  Ask the Reference librarians for assistance.