LibGuides: World History: Find Articles

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Several encyclopedias focus on history in different parts of the world. Choose Browse by Subject to see the individual encyclopedias.
With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides country reports that deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. Users link to the reports via an engaging, map-based interface.

Google Scholar

Get LCCC's full text in Google Scholar: In order to access LCCC's full text when using Google Scholar, you MUST set your Scholar Settings following the steps below:

1. Select the Google Scholar menu on the upper left.

2. Select the Settings Gear from the Google Scholar menu.

3. Select Library links, under Scholar Settings

4. Enter Lorain in the search box. Select "Lorain County Community College Library - Full Text Finder" Save you selection.

5. From Google Scholar Results, select Full Text Finder for full text.

6. If you see the login notice at the top of your screen, you will need to click there, then add your LorainCCC email and password to get to full text.