LibGuides: Literary Criticism: Find Sources

Databases

Here are sources in our research databases collection from which you can access articles.

Bloom's Literary Criticism eBooks
Over 1,000 eBooks of literary criticism covering frequently studied writers and works.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
LCCC Library provides access to JSTOR Language & Literature Collection and the JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection.
Literary Reference Source Plus
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Literature
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.

Humanities International Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

Gale eBooks

Recommended Print Sources: Plot Summaries

MasterPlots by Frank N. Magill
ISBN: 0893560847
Frank Magill's "Masterplots" provide plot synopses and basic criticism of famous literary works.
Critical Survey Series by Frank N. Magill
ISBN: 0893568821
Series offers in-depth, analytical reference guides covering the major writers of world literature.

Recommended Print Sources: Criticism

The Gale Group publishes several series of literary criticism. These volumes usually include some biographical information on an author, a listing of major works, and a variety of excerpts from critical essays written about the author and works.

The Literary Index is a free index to books in these series. You can search this Literary Index (http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex ) to find out which Gale series has information on your topic.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
ISBN: 0810392917
Excerpts from reviews and criticism. Includes authors who died between 1800 and 1899. LCCC has vols 1-175.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
ISBN: 0787627402
Excerpts from reviews and criticism. Includes authors who died between 1900 and 1959. LCCC has vols 1-39.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
ISBN: 0787610607
Excerpts from reviews and criticism. Includes authors now living, and those who died after 1960. LCCC has vols 1-172.
Black Literature Criticism
ISBN: 0810379295
Excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years
Children's Literature Review
ISBN: 0787667757
Excerpts from reviews and criticism. Authors of books for children and young adults.
Poetry Criticism, vols 1-46
ISBN: 078768709X
Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading.
Short Story Criticism, vols 1-59
ISBN: 0810325500
Each print volume profiles approximately four to eight short story writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.