Off-Campus Access

Starting January 3, 2024 off-campus access to the LCCC Library’s electronic resources will require LorainCCC email and Multi-Factor Authentication. You will be prompted to log-in the same way you log-in for MyCampus and Canvas.

An LCCC Library barcode (14 digit number) will still be required to checkout physical items from the library, including materials borrowed from OhioLINK libraries.

You must have an up-to-date Library ID if you want to:

• Check out books from the LCCC library.
• Request library items through OhioLINK when not available at LCCC.

If you do not have a Library ID, or if your Library ID is not updated for the semester, visit the CIRCULATION desk to obtain or update your ID card. If you are a remote student or are unable to visit in person, please call Circulation at (440)366-4026.

The front of the ID has a 14-digit number above the bar code that you will use when requesting materials through OhioLINK. An updated ID should have a sticker on the back for the current semester.

What is authentication?

Authentication is similar to logging into an account. You must prove you are an eligible user or authenticate, before you can access the databases for free. Eligible users include all LCCC/UP students, faculty, and staff who meet the following criteria:

• You must currently be registered at the LCCC Library.
• You have no unpaid fines or overdue material.

If you are unsure about your status, review your record at the LCCC Library. Contact the CIRCULATION desk (440) 366-4026 to register and/or handle issues with your record.

Are you starting at LCCC Library webpages?

In order to access databases and other electronic resources from off campus, you need to log in through the library's webpages. Here are examples of login screens for different library systems.

If you are attempting to follow a direct link to an article, that link may be incorrect because the articles in databases cannot be bookmarked -- the address generated while searching is temporary and you will not be able to return to the article. Search for the article again using OneSearch or the A to Z Databases 

What software do you need?

You can use any current browser software, such as Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Safari, Opera or Google Chrome. "Cookies" must be enabled on all browsers. 

• Test your browser HERE to see if it accepts "Cookies"

You will also need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the full text in many databases. The program is free. Download Acrobat Reader 

Common Software Problems:

• An out of date browser. Most databases work best with Firefox.

• Pop-up blockers.

• Java and/or Javascript are not enabled.

• Cookie settings. Try adjusting your settings or deleting your cookies.

• Your browser cache. Clearing it may resolve your problem.

• Firewall interference. Unless certain ports are opened on the firewall, it will block you from accessing OhioLINK databases. See the list of required ports. Contact the network administrator of your business or organization. You may not be able to access library databases from behind a firewall.           

What if you still can't connect?

1. Go to OhioLINK "Where Am I" Connection Information. Note/Copy the information provided and share it with us
2. Contact the LCCC Library at (440) 366-4106 or e-mail ask@lorainccc.libanswers.com

Sample login screens

For O'Reilly Safari, you must use a lorainccc.edu e-mail address.