Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Barbara and Mike Bass Library

Library Home

My Library Account

Hours

Ask a Librarian

LCCC Library Archives

The LCCC Library Archives is a repository for records of historical value to the college.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions about the LCCC Library Archives

What is an Archive?

  • An Archive is a department that maintains the historical collections of an institution/organization.
  • The historical documents themselves.
  • The room(s) or building in which the historical materials are actually retained.

Where is the LCCC Library Archives?

The Library Archives is located in Room 209 (second floor) of the Barbara and Mike Bass Library/Community Resource Center.

Who may use the LCCC Library Archives?

LCCC students, staff, faculty, and adminstrators, University Partnership student, staff, and faculty, and community users may use the LCCC Library Archives.

What materials are located in the LCCC Library Archives?

Lorain County Community College historical materials are retained in the Library Archives.  The materials are available for public use.

Can materials located in the LCCC Library Archives be checked out?

Typically, the materials located in the Library Archives are not available for check out.  However, exceptions are provided for LCCC faculty, staff, and adminstrators.

What can the information in the LCCC Library Archives be used for?

Historical information located in the Library Archives can be used for personal and research use.

Do I have to make an appointment to use the LCCC Library Archives?

Contact information: Mary Gill:  440-366-7289 or mgill@lorainccc.edu

Is there someone who can help me find what I need?

Yes, staff may be available to assist with your information needs.  Additionally, the LCCC Library Archives Finding Aid is available either electronically or in print.

May I make copies of the information I locate in the LCCC Library Archives?

Yes, you may make copies of the archival materials.  The LCCC Library has copiers; the charge per copy is five cents.

What are the LCCC Library Archives hours?

Typically, the Library Archives hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  However, upon consultation hours can be adjusted.

Are there guidelines for using the LCCC Library Archives?

Yes, there are guidelines when using the Library Archives.  Please reveiw the LCCC Library Archives Guidelines avialable electronically or in print.

Do I need to complete any forms before using the materials in the Library Archives?

Yes, please complete the LCCC Library Archives registration form which is available electronically or in print prior to using archival materials.

How do I cite references to materials in the LCCC Library Archives that I have used?

Citing primary sources properly is important, because archival materials are often unique and so cannot be referred to elsewhere.  Persons trying to retrieve your sources at a later date will need to know exactly where and how to retrieve them.  The specific form of your citation will depend upon the citation style you adhere to (e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago). 

Generally, citations progress from the broadest to the narrowest for of information.  The basic elements that should appear in your citation are:  Repository, Collection or Record Group, Series and/or Subseries, Box and Folder Number, and the Document itself. 

Remember to note down information from the Finding Aid and from the labels on the folder and box.  Remember to ask the Reference Librarians for assistance.

Lorain County Community College | 1005 N Abbe Rd - Elyria, OH 44035 | 1-800-995-LCCC