Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
More than 52,000 titles. Content within the collection covers topics across programs and fields of study in key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
This 2 volume set explores contemporary American religion in all its diversity. In addition to profiling religious groups, from the modern forms of Catholicism and Judaism to cults such as Heaven's Gate and the Branch Davidians, the set includes articles on cultural, social, and legal issues, as well as holidays and celebrations, the arts, and other topics.
This 15 volume set is available as an eBook from Gale Virtual Reference Library and also in print at the LCCC Library. It is considered a standard reference in the field.
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
This 15 volume set has over 13,000 pages and over 2700 entries covering important ideas, practices and persons in the religious experience of humankind, from the Paleolithic past to present time. Viewed as a standard.
The new encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
Encyclopedia of Religion (e-book) by 
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions by 
Religion in America by 
Encyclopedia of Mormonism by 
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by 
Encyclopedia of African-American Religions by 
