LibGuides: Biased : Uncovering the Hidden Prejudice that Shapes What We See, Think, and Do: Teaching the Book

The Book

Discussion Questions in the back of the book!

Online Resources

Company Reads Discussion Guide to Biased

Inside the Big Ideas: Biased Reading Guide

Implicit AssociationTests (IATs) from Project Implicit, Harvard University. The IATs measure the strength of associations between concepts (e.g., black people, gay people) and evaluations (e.g., good, bad) or stereotypes (e.g., athletic, clumsy).

Stanford SPARQ - Stanford SPARQ (Social Psychological Answers to Real-World Questions) is a “do tank” aimed at reducing societal disparities and bridging social divides using insights from behavioral science. SPARQ focuses on the areas of criminal justice, economic mobility, education, and health.

SPARQtools is a suite of digital toolkits (activities, lesson plans) that translate cutting-edge research into instructions and materials that practitioners and educators can use to sparq psychological, behavioral, and societal change.
SPARQ Insights is a curated set of stories, science, and solutions organized around a common set of current and enduring questions and concerns surrounding bias and racism in general and policing more specifically.
SPARQ Solutions Catalog is an online library of scientifically tested fixes to a wide variety of social issues and conflicts. Easily searchable and practitioner-focused, it provides a curated set of evidence-based behavioral nudges in education, health, law & justice, peace & conflict, relationships, parenting, and the environment.
Publications include reports and research articles focused on bias.

Kirwin Institute Implicit Bias Module Series from Kirwin Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity at OSU. This course will introduce you to insights about how our minds operate and help you understand the origins of implicit associations. You will also uncover some of your own biases and learn strategies for addressing them. Each module is divided into a short series of lessons, many taking less than 10 minutes to complete.

Library Databases

Suggested Individual Databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Try this search: Biased AND "Jennifer L. Eberhardt"
LCCC Library provides access to JSTOR Language & Literature Collection and the JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
This database covers the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Films on Demand: Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand (FOD) offers a large variety of curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Biography, National Geographic, and others. This resource offers thousands of streaming videos in the humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Feature films and online educational videos. Begin browsing here.
Over 20,000 feature films and videos in Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more. Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos across a wide variety of subject areas. Kanopy also provides access to classic Hollywood and foreign films from the Criterion Collection.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

Biased : Uncovering the Hidden Prejudice that Shapes What We See, Think, and Do

The Book

Online Resources

Library Databases

OneSearch

LCCC & OhioLINK Catalogs