Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Barbara and Mike Bass Library

Library Home

My Library Account

Hours

Ask a Librarian

Chicago Style (Notes/Bibliography)

Provides basic information and instructions for preparing a paper using Chicago Manual of Style Notes and Bibliography system.

Elements of a Paper

Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) provides detailed information on formatting a manuscript to be sent to a publisher. It does not address formatting of student papers. This page provides basic information about the components of a paper following CMS Notes-Bibliography system. Always find out whether your instructor has specific requirements when you are writing a paper.

Basic elements of a paper using Chicago style are as follows:

  • A title page that contains:
    • the title of your paper
    • your name
    • the class, the professor, and the date.
  • Body of the paper.
  • Footnotes on pages where references occur OR an Endnotes page on a new page after the body of the paper.
  • Bibliography.

Margins, Spacing, Etc.

Margins, Indents

  • Leave uniform margins of at least 1 inch (2.54 cm.) at the top, bottom, left and right of every page.
  • Indent all paragraphs in the body of the paper 1/2".
  • Indent notes (footnotes or endnotes) 1/2".
  • Use a hanging indent of 1/2" for Bibliography entries.
  • Block indent long quotations 1/2".

Spacing

  • Double-space the body of the paper.
  • Double-space block quotes.
  • Single-space each note (whether using endnotes or footnotes) and bibliography, but double-space between each entry.

Fonts: CMS does not specify a particular font. We suggest you use a readable serif font, like Times New Roman, 12 pt.

 

Lorain County Community College | 1005 N Abbe Rd - Elyria, OH 44035 | 1-800-995-LCCC