LibGuides: Education: Articles

Databases for Education Students

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC). Articles, reports, and documents, many full text, covering education-related literature beginning in1966.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Feature films and online educational videos. Begin browsing here.
Over 20,000 feature films and videos in Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more. Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos across a wide variety of subject areas. Kanopy also provides access to classic Hollywood and foreign films from the Criterion Collection.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Databases for K-12 Students

Most of these databases can limit results by Lexile level.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is the premier database covering social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Primary Search (for elementary school students) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
Primary Search (for elementary school students) provides full text from 57 childrens magazines appropriate for elementary schools and childrens reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Animals and full text for over 100 pamphlets.
Middle Search Plus (for middle school students) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
Middle Search Plus (for middle school students) provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines.
MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students) provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
For K-12 students, choose Kids Edition for a kid's-eye view of daily life in cultures around the world.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this web site serves as a gateway to its various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, current news, links to external articles, and more. Great for K-12 lesson plans, activities, etc. for education students.
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Included resources are: World book kids. World book student. World book advanced. Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica. L'Encyclopedie Decouverte. Early world of learning. Timelines.

Education

Related LibGuides

Databases for Education Students

Databases for K-12 Students

OneSearch

OneSearch