Writing on Culture and Identity

We are dedicated to writing and resources centered on racial, ethnic and religious diversity. We share Q&A-style writing advice, guides, book recommendations and more

This framework is designed for academic programs in creative writing, to counter the harmful effects of the traditional workshop

De-Canon’s mission is to challenge and unsettle past and existing ideas of what constitutes the North American literary “canon” as it has been commonly taught into the 21st century. We accomplish this through positing—not simply an alternative canon, but multiple canons—that are inclusive, diverse, and multi-storied in their approach to representation.

Full text digital access to the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian magazine, The American Indian.

The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection is within the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

This database covers the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

Source contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.