Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
is a comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Recommended Books @ LCCC Library
Click on the cover image or title to go to the LCCC Library Catalog. Note the location and call number to find the book in the LCCC Library.
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist is the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program. Written by one of the preeminent voices in dental hygiene education, this text provides students and practitioners with the knowledge and skills for successful practice as a dental hygienist.
Hones professionalism and improves efficiencies in managing the business aspects of dentistry. The various tasks associated with front office dental management are addressed in six sections:the business of dentistry, practice communications, clinical records management, business and financial records management, employment opportunities, and practice management software.
Public health is a key concern of modern dental practitioners as they continue to play a vital role in the health of populations across the world. This text identifies the links between clinical practice and public health with a strong emphasis on evidence-based medicine.
The ability to accurately assess patients is vital to the practice of Dental Hygiene--a complete and accurate assessment is the starting point to providing thorough patient care. Patient Assessment Tutorials takes you through the process of patient assessment, and provides you with information on both the actual physical assessment as well as effective patient communication.
This leading reference is an outstanding, scientifically based source of information in the field of dental materials science. It presents up-to-date information on materials that are used in the dental office and laboratory every day, emphasizing practical, clinical use, as well as the physical, chemical, and biological properties of materials.
This achingly fascinating book follows the evolution of dentistry throughout the world from the Bronze Age to the present day, featuring captivating, grim illustrations of the tools and techniques of dentistry through the ages. It charts the changing social attitudes toward the purpose and practice of dentistry from the crude and painful endeavors of early civilizations to the fluoridated water, cosmetic surgery, and heightened expectations of today.
'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
This evidence-based textbook presents the essential communication strategies clinicians should know to facilitate interaction with patients. With a focus on practical strategies instead of dense communication theories, the authors facilitate improved patient-provider communication and demonstrate how to elicit accurate patient information during the health interview, communicate effectively during examinations and procedures, and present preventive and restorative treatment plans from a patient-centered perspective.
Dental Anatomy by BarCharts, Inc.
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification.
Provides basic consumer health information about oral health concerns of children and adults, dental hygiene, and surgical, orthodontic, and cosmetic dental procedures. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.
This concise manual offers best practice guidance on dental treatment of pediatric patients with special health care needs (CSHCN). The straightforward approaches described will enable clinicians to deliver high-quality, patient-centered care to children with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
Focusing on the dental materials most commonly used, this comprehensive text covers the tasks that dental assistants and hygienists typically perform. It describes current and emerging dental materials, how to properly mix and apply them, and how to explain them to patients.
Dental caries has been called a "silent epidemic" and is the most prevalent chronic disease affecting children. Early Childhood Oral Health coalesces all the important information related to this topic in a comprehensive reference for students, academics, and practitioners.
Using an easy-to-understand approach, this resource offers a complete foundation in the basic and advanced clinical skills you must master to achieve clinical competency. It describes dental assisting procedures with photographs and clear, step-by-step instructions.
Contains everything a dental nurse needs to know to perform safely and effectively in the clinical environment. Serves as a ready reference for fully qualified dental nurses and therapists in the hospital, community or general practice setting. Designed specifically for pre-registration dental nurses.
Be it dentistry, dental assisting, or dental hygiene, Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions, Second Edition is the go-to resource for all students and professionals in the dental field. This dictionary contains definitions for thousands of terms relevant to all dental professions, including dentistry, and includes hundreds of illustrations—most in full color. Appendices include tooth numbering systems; dental imaging errors; guidelines for infection control in dental health care settings; weights and measures; medical prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms; medical and dental abbreviations; abbreviations used in medication orders; laboratory reference range values; and professional organizations.