LibGuides: OCTA: Occupational Therapy Assistant: Find Articles

Article Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
is a comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.

Core OT Journals

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy
LCCC Library provides full text access with 18 month delay. Login with your LCCC email and password.
New Zealand Journal of Occupational Therapy
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC Library bar code number.
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC email and password.
OTJR: Occupation, Participation & Health
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Occupational Therapy International
LCCC Library provides full text access. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics
LCCC Library provides full text access with 18 month delay. Login with your LCCC LIbrary barcode.
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics
LCCC Library provides full text access with 18 month delay. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Journal of Mental Health Research in Intellectual Abilities
LCCC Library provides full text access with 18 month delay. Login with your LCCC email and password.
Journal of Occupational Therapy Education
open access journal
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
open access journal

How do I find evidence based practice articles?

You can find evidence based practice articles by searching in our research databases.

Use the CINAHL database. In the Advanced search one of the boxes available for limiting your type of search is called "Evidence-Based Practice". Checking this box will limit your results to these types of articles. See the screenshot below:

If you are using a database other than CINAHL, search for "Evidence Based Practice" (yes, you should include the quotation marks) with the topic you are looking for, combined with the word AND.

For example: "Evidence Based Practice" AND hypertension

OCTA: Occupational Therapy Assistant

LCCC Library Research Staff

Related LibGuides

Article Databases

Core OT Journals

How do I find evidence based practice articles?