1 – Institution Zone (IZ)
The Institution Zone (IZ) is the institution’s library’s/libraries’ local instance, including inventory, patrons, order and vendor info, fulfillment processes, usage data, analytics, etc. Bibliographic records can exist in the IZ only or be linked to records in the Network Zone (NZ).
Equivalent to: your institution’s local holdings, catalog, and Sierra instance
2 – Network Zone (NZ)
The Network Zone (NZ) is the OhioLINK resource sharing space. It allows OhioLINK institutions to centrally manage and share licenses, a central catalog, and more. Bibliographic data for physical and electronic resources can be located in the NZ (with some exceptions) to be shared among all NZ members.
Equivalent to: OhioLINK and the OhioLINK Catalog
3 – Community Zone (CZ)
The Community Zone (CZ) is a space where Ex Libris Alma institutions and vendors can share electronic bibliographic records, authority vocabularies, and information about electronic collections (the Central Knowledge Base). Resources are available for all Alma institutions to use. Alma community members (institutions) can update Community Zone catalog bibliographic records.
Equivalent to: holdings management platform that is exclusive to Alma institutions globally
4 – Central Discovery Index (CDI)
CDI is an Ex Libris-managed vendor-neutral citation database that gets data from publishers, aggregators, and other sources. Patrons can search and view CDI records in Primo VE, per your institution’s Primo VE configuration.
5 – Primo VE
Primo VE is a patron-facing discovery layer that allows users to search for many types of resources including library materials, electronic materials, journals, databases, and more available at their home library or other libraries in OhioLINK. Patrons can also search the CDI if the Primo VE configuration allows. Primo VE is managed and configured in the institution’s Alma.
Equivalent to: your institution’s user-facing search interface (i.e. EBSCO Discovery Service, Summon)
6 – Alma Digital
Alma Digital is comparable to an institutional repository for consolidated management of the full range of the library’s “owned” digital content.
Equivalent to: your institution’s local institutional repository
7 – Rapido
Rapido is Alma's backbone for managing interlibrary-loan and consortium print lending workflows, fulfilling requests, and showing the shared collection available to patrons. It includes RapidILL.
Equivalent to: INN-Reach
8 – Leganto
Leganto is the Ex Libris resource list management system that streamlines access to course materials in local Learning Management Systems (such as Canvas or Blackboard) and reduces students’ course material costs by making easy use of library collections and services.
9 – Rialto
Rialto is a vendor-neutral marketplace for academic content from a variety of publishers, aggregators, and platforms. It streamlines selection and acquisition by eliminating many of the manual steps required to synchronize workflows across systems.
Equivalent to: GOBI
