Faculty Promotions: Book Selections

The authors of the essays in this volume describe a wide variety of careers for which a background in the mathematical sciences is useful. Each of the jobs presented shows real people in real jobs. Their individual histories demonstrate how the study of mathematics was useful in landing well-paying jobs in predictable places such as IBM, AT&T, and American Airlines, and in surprising places such as FedEx Corporation, L.L. Bean, and Perdue Farms, Inc. You will also learn about job opportunities in the Federal Government as well as exciting careers in the arts, sculpture, music, and television. There are really no limits to what you can do if you are well prepared in mathematics. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY HEATHER BUBNICK / SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS

This reference surveys the field, covering rhetoric's principles, concepts, applications, practical tools, and major thinkers.The Encyclopedia presents an overview of rhetoric and its role in contemporary education and communications, discusses rhetoric's contributions to various fields, surveys the applications of this versatile discipline to the teaching of English and language arts, and illustrates its usefulness in all kinds of discourse, argument, and exchange of ideas. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY DANIEL CLEARY / ARTS & HUMANITIES

This volume is the companion piece for an eight-hour PBS documentary of the same name, aired in September 200]. Science writer Zimmer (At the Water's Edge) provides a sweeping overview of most of the topics critical to understanding evolution, presenting his material from both an historical and a topical perspective. He summarizes the changing scientific views of geology and genetics, for example, while discussing the implications modern evolutionary theory might have for agriculture and medicine. With chapters dealing with difficult and often controversial subjects including Charles Darwin's life and his struggle to bring his concept of evolution before the public; the evolution of sex; patterns of human evolution and the importance of language in the rise of humans; the role humans have played and continue to play in the extinction of species; and the fallacies of "creation science."
(From Publishers Weekly)
SELECTED BY AIMEE DICKINSON / SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES

This novel presents the coming of age of Pip (Philip Pirrip), one of Dickens's most memorable characters, as he struggles to define himself and his place in the world. This new edition in the Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations series offers a selection of contemporary criticism of Dickens's exploration of identity and self-actualization. An introductory essay by literary scholar Harold Bloom, a bibliography, a chronology of the author's life, and an index are also included. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY JONATHAN DRYDEN / SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES

Author Jensen provides a basic orientation to the brain and its various systems and explains how they affect learning. After discussing what parents and educators can do to get children's brains in good shape for school, Jensen goes on to explore topics such as motivation, critical thinking skills, environmental factors, the "social brain," emotions, and memory and recall. He offers fascinating insights on a number of specific issue, including
* How to tap into the brain's natural reward system.
* The critical link between movement and cognition.
* The impact on learning of environmental factors such as lighting, temperature, and noise.
* The value of feedback.
* The importance of prior knowledge and mental models.
* Why stress impedes learning.
* How social interaction affects the brain.
* How to help students improve their ability to encode, maintain, and retrieve learning. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY ALDENA FRANCISCO-HARRIS / SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES

The basketball player, coach, and ESPN analyst examines his life and career through the prism of toughness, which he explains comes from discipline, a team-oriented mind-set, and belief in oneself. (From catalog entry)
SELECTED BY VINCE GRANITO / SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES

History is not just a collection of documents-- and all records are not created equal. To analyze and decide what to believe, we also need certain facts about the records themselves. (From catalog entry)
SELECTED LAURENE GRIMES / LEARNER SERVICES / ENROLLMENT, FINANCIAL AID & CAREER SERVICES

The Mandala Book is a collection of geometric figures, frequently circular, which in Hindu and Buddhist symbolism represent the universe. In her collection of the mandalic images the authors draws from history, science, religion, and art as she ushers the reader through a visually stunning journey, extending from prehistory to Carl Jung and from tiny particles of matter to entire galaxies.
SELECTED BY JENNIFER KUKIS / SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES

A spoof on our culture featuring a drug-and-alcohol rehabilitation house near Boston. The center becomes a hotbed of revolutionary activity by Quebec separatists in revolt against the Organization of North American Nations which now rules the continent. (From catalog entry)
SELECTED BY GREGORY LITTLE / ARTS & HUMANITIES

A plea for enhanced scientific literacy, Unscientific America urges those who care about the place of science in our society to take unprecedented action. Authors Mooney and Kirshenbaum urge that we should train a small army of ambassadors who can translate science's message and make it relevant to the media, to politicians, and to the public in the broadest sense. Not unlike C. P. Snow in his 1959 Cambridge University lecture, the book's authors declare that these ambassadors must navigate the "gulf of mutual incomprehension" which exists between the "two cultures" of science and humanities, integrating science into the public discourse--before it's too late. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY ADAM MILLER / SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS

This collection of true narratives reflects the dynamism and diversity of nurses, who provide the first vital line of patient care. Here, nurses remember their first “sticks,” first births, and first deaths, and reflect on what gets them though long, demanding shifts, and keeps them in the profession. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY JUDITH PULITO / ALLIED HEALTH & NURSING

This new fifth edition on natural remedies incorporates the most recent information on a variety of alternative healing and preventive therapies, and unveils new science on vitamins, supplements, and herbs. (From catalog entry)
SELECTED BY LINDA SULKOWSKI / ALLIED HEALTH & NURSING

Cleveland’s West Side Market is a matchless culinary and cultural resource, a nationally significant architectural treasure, and part of the city’s distinctive urban landscape. The book chronicles the history of this notable landmark and all it offers consumers and culinary aficionados. Written by two well-known Cleveland food writers, the book takes readers on a nostalgic tour of the market building, outdoor arcades, and into the lives of many vendors and market families who are the true foundation of this historic public space. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY IHOR SUSZKO / ALLIED HEALTH & NURSING

The author shares a few key study tips & techniques that enabled her to start nursing school with a 3.7 GPA and also graduate nursing school with honors, despite a learning disability and a five year break between high school and her nursing program. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY NANCY URRUTIA / ALLIED HEALTH & NURSING

A comprehensive overview of rock & roll in Ohio from the 1950s to the present, the book is divided into 14 chapters. Inside you'll find: the complete story behind "Hang On Sloopy" and the Ohio State University tradition; How Cleveland won the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame; Alan Freed and the rise of rock & roll; New Wave and the Akron sound - Devo & The Pretenders; Cincinnati powerhouses WLW radio and King-Federal Records; Alternative rock in Ohio; Heartland rock - Joe Walsh, Michael Stanley and the Raspberries; Buckeye rock on TV - WKRP In Cincinnati; Soul, Funk and R&B in Ohio; and much, more! (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY AARON WEISS / SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS

The book explores the dog’s complex and prominent place in our world and how it came to be. Evolving from wild animals to working animals to nearly human members of our social fabric, dogs are now the subject of serious scientific studies concerning pet ownership, evolutionary theory, and even cognitive science. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY MICHELLE YUHASZ / ALLIED HEALTH & NURSING

Author Lanier is urgently concerned with " the poisonous concentration of money and power in our digital networks." Dubbed the father of virtual reality, Lanier has predicted how technology will transform our humanity for decades. He shows how Siren Servers, which exploit big data and the free sharing of information, led our economy into recession, imperiled personal privacy, and hollowed out the middle class. The networks that define our world—including social media, financial institutions, and intelligence agencies—now threaten to destroy it, the author maintains. He does, however, propose an alternative, an information economy that rewards ordinary people for what they do and share on the web. (From Amazon.com)
SELECTED BY MICHAEL ZELLERS / ENGINEERING & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY