LibGuides: African American History and Slavery: Start

Background Sources

These sources, all located in the LCCC library, are great starting points for your research, providing concise overviews of a topic and summaries. They may include a bibliography that leads you to more sources. Click on the cover image or the linked title to determine the location and call number in the LCCC Library or to connect to the electronic book.

Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage by Susan Altman
ISBN: 0816041253
Publication Date: 2000
The author concentrates most of her attention on indigenous Africans and blacks in the United States
but also includes information about descendants of the
African motherland who were involuntary and voluntary
immigrants to the Caribbean, Latin America, Europe,
and Asia.
The African American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Cornel West
ISBN: 0684864142
Publication Date: 2000
Profiles the most influential African Americans of the 20th century. This book is now in the Circulating Collection on the 2nd floor.
Reference Library of Black America by edited by Jessie Carney Smith, Joseph M. Palmisano
ISBN: 0787643637
Publication Date: 2000
The 5-volume set contains biographical data on a roster of historical and contemporary personalities in the African American community. Historical narratives, statistical tables and graphs present in great detail nearly 500 years of history.
The New York Public Library African American desk reference by The New York Public Library ; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
ISBN: 0471239240
Publication Date: 1999
Provides concise, reliable, easy-to-find information on history, business, politics, civil rights, heritage, education, literature and more. This book is now in the Circulating Collection on the 2nd floor.
Timelines of African-American history : 500 years of black achievement by Tom Cowan and Jack Maguire
ISBN: 0399521275
Publication Date: 1994
Year-by-year chronology of African Americans from the 1490s to the 1990s.
Slavery in America: from colonial times to the Civil War by Dorothy Schneider and Carl J. Schneider
ISBN: 0816038635
Publication Date: 2000
Provides hundreds of firsthand accounts (diary entries, letters, speeches and newspaper accounts) that illustrate how historical events appeared to those who lived through them. This book is now in the Circulating Collection on the 2nd floor.