LibGuides: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City: Teaching the Book

Online Resources

Random House Teacher's Guide for Evicted

Eviction Lab Website - a national database of evictions in the United States. Listen to the radio interview below to learn more.

Desmond, Matthew. Interview by Terry Gross. "First-Ever Evictions Database Shows: 'We're In the Middle Of A Housing Crisis'". NPR. 12 April 2018, https://www.npr.org/2018/04/12/601783346/first-ever-evictions-database-shows-were-in-the-middle-of-a-housing-crisis

The Eviction Lab Teacher's Guide - Evictionlab.org can be a resource for teachers working with students on data analysis, public policy, social studies, and more. Students in service organizations or those who act as representatives to local governing bodies may also benefit from learning about housing issues in their community.

Eviction Tracking System - The Eviction Tracking System (ETS) monitors eviction filings in real time across a set of American cities. It allows you to see how many eviction cases are being filed in Austin, Cleveland, St. Louis, and several other cities, and to compare those numbers to historical averages. This is part of the Eviction Lab's website.

endpovertyusa.org - This website is designed to help families find services they need and deserve and connect people with organizations committed to fighting poverty. It also includes key poverty facts for each state.

data.census.gov - Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Lorain County U.S. Census Bureau statistics

Data USA - Lorain County

Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Try this search: Evicted and "Matthew Desmond"
LCCC Library provides access to JSTOR Language & Literature Collection and the JSTOR Arts & Sciences II Collection.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
Plain Dealer Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cleveland Plain Dealer from 1989-present via America's News database.
Morning Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Lorain history through local news, events and people with the Morning Journal Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

LCCC Related LibGuides

Commodore Conversations 2021 LibGuide
The Commodore Conversations 2021 event focused on poverty and The American Dream.

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

Online Resources

Library Databases

OneSearch

Library Catalogs

LCCC Related LibGuides