LibGuides: EMCH 112: Engineering Materials (Cosgriff): Find Sources

Suggested Websites

If accessing from off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your LCCC email address and password.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by K. Lee Lerner
ISBN: 9780028677583
Publication Date: 2021
Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Use the Search Within Publication feature in the top-right to search for your element.

Use the Cite button from your element's page to get the citation for your references list.

If accessing from off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your LCCC email address and password.

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this web site serves as a gateway to its various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, current news, links to external articles, and more. Great for K-12 lesson plans, activities, etc. for education students.
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Included resources are: World book kids. World book student. World book advanced. Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica. L'Encyclopedie Decouverte. Early world of learning. Timelines.

Select the Advanced version of World Book Online then search for your element.

A page on your element will likely be at the top of the search results.

The bottom of the page will have a section for How to cite this article.

If accessing from off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your LCCC email address and password.

The Periodic Table (Chapter 4: Directory of Elements) by Tom Jackson
ISBN: 9781781319307
Publication Date: 2020
Which is the densest element? Which has the largest atoms? And why are some elements radioactive? From the little-known uses of gold in medicine to the development of the hydrogen bomb, this is a fresh new look at the Periodic Table.